banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Gold Member

Thanks

Country
    Australia

Default A Guide to Healthy Eating

How To Eat Healthier

Disclaimer: I am not a nutrionalist. My background is my mother. She has been trying to lose some weight the past few years and I have read her books, pamphlets, etc and gained a general understanding of what it takes to treat your body right. I am by no means saying this plan is perfect, but it is a start. You should meet with your doctor before starting any major diet changes to make sure they are right for you. So, you are not sure what to eat? What is filling? What will make you gain weight? How much is too much? If I eat less, will that fix my problem?

A simple answer is to eat more, but eat wiser.

Often you see teenagers simply cut down on the amount of food they eat. This causes for the stomach to shrink over time, energy loss and can lead to depression or mood swings. If you under eat to the point of Anorexia, you could suffer from the following:

Health Risks of Under Eating and Starvation

•Abnormally slow heart rate and low blood pressure, which mean that the heart muscle is changing. The risk for heart failure rises as the heart rate and blood pressure levels sink lower and lower.

•Reduction of bone density (osteoporosis), which results in dry, brittle bones.

•Muscle loss and weakness.

•Severe dehydration, which can result in kidney failure.

•Fainting, fatigue, and overall weakness.

•Dry hair and skin; hair loss is common.

•Growth of a downy layer of hair called lanugo all over the body, including the face, in an effort to keep the body warm.

Side Effects of Overeating or Binge Eating:

•High blood pressure

•High cholesterol levels

•Heart disease

•Diabetes mellitus

•Gallbladder disease

Source

Ok. So now you know that cutting the amount you eat could lead to a hairy body and health risks. So where to start? In the beginning of course!

Breakfast